We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

National Gazetteer, 1868

Small Isles - Extract from National Gazetteer, 1868

"SMALL ISLES, a parish in the Hebrides, in the district of Mull, county Argyle, Scotland, except Eigg, which is annexed to the shire of Inverness. It comprises the islands of Rum, Canna, Muck, and Eigg, besides several smaller islands. It was a part of the parish of Sleat till 1726, when it was erected into a separate parochial charge. The parish is in the presbytery of Skye and synod of Glenelg, and in the patronage of the crown. The stipend of the minister is about £158. There is no parish church, but a schoolhouse at Eigg in which divine service is celebrated. There are also a Free Church preaching station, a Roman Catholic place of worship at Eigg, and a Society school at Muck. A notice of each of these islands is given separately."

"EIGG, (or Egg Island), in the parish of Small Isles, county Inverness, Scotland, 12 miles W. of Arasaig. It is 6 miles in length, and 3 in breadth. The surface is somewhat hilly. The highest summit is Scure-Eigg, and on the coast is a cave 200 feet long. Here are Danish remains, and an old Catholic chapel, near which is the reputed grave of Donnan, the patron saint of Eigg. On the island stands the manse, and there is a school-house.

Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003

We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Care and maintenance - The section has a maintainer assigned who is correcting broken links, and staying in touch with the GENUKI system administrator and Trustees but is not active in updating the section's web pages. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact David McFarlane.