GENUKI Home page
Scotland Scotland   GENUKI Contents and search Contents and search   Towns and Parishes Index Inverness-shire
Parishes
  Table of Contents for this page Information related
to all of Inverness-shire

INVERNESS-SHIRE

Description in 1910, and map showing location

Map of Inverness-shire "Inverness-shire, a highland county of Scotland, bounded N. by Ross and Cromarty, and the Beauly and Moray Firths, N.E. by the shires of Nairn and Elgin, E. by Banff and Aberdeenshires, S.E. by Perthshire, S. by Argyllshire and W. by the Atlantic. It includes the Outer Hebrides south of the northern boundary of Harris, and several of the Inner Hebrides ... and is the largest shire in Scotland. It occupies an area of 2,695,037 acres, or 4211 sq. m., of which more than one-third belongs to the islands. The county comprises the districts of Moidart, Arisaig and Morar in the S.W., Knoydart in the W., Lochaber in the S., Badenoch in the S.E. and the Aird in the N. Excepting comparatively small and fertile tracts in the N. on both sides of the river Ness, in several of the glens and on the shores of some of the sea lochs, the county is wild and mountainous in the extreme and characterized by beautiful and in certain respects sublime scenery. There are more than fifty mountains exceeding 3000ft. in height, among them Ben Nevis (4406), the highest mountain in the British Isles, the extraordinary assemblage of peaks forming the Monadhliadh mountains in the S.E., Ben Alder (3757) in the S., and the grand group of the Cairngorms on the confines of the shires of Aberdeen and Banff." - extracted from Encyclopaedia Britannica. 11th ed. Vol. 14. (Cambridge, 1910)

Parishes

  • Abernethy
  • Abertarff
  • Alvie
  • Arderseir
  • Barra
  • Boleskine
  • Bracadale
  • Cromdale
  • Croy
  • Dalarossie
  • Dalcross
  • Daviot
  • Dores
  • Duirinish
  • Dunlichity
  • Duthil
  • Glenelg
  • Glenmoriston
  • Harris
  • Insh
  • Inverallan
  • Inverness
  • Kilmonivaig
  • Kilmuir
  • Kiltarlity
  • Kincardine
  • Kingussie
  • Kirkhill
  • Laggan
  • Moy
  • North Uist
  • Petty
  • Portree
  • Rothiemurchus
  • Sleat
  • Small Isles
  • Snizort
  • South Uist
  • St Kilda
  • Strath
  • Urquhart

INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF INVERNESS-SHIRE

Archives and Libraries

Census

General advice on census records and indexes can be found on our Scotland Census page.

Church Records

General advice on parish registers throughout Scotland can be found on our Scotland Church Records page.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these records and indexes to them, see our GRO tutorial and our Scotland Civil Registration page.

Court Records

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Mailing lists:

Land and Property

Language and Languages

Names, Geographical

Societies

Statistics

Return to top of page.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.

GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see About GENUKI as an organisation
This county is maintained by **Job vacancy**.


Last updated: 15 Aug 2004 - David Hawgood Valid HTML 4.0!