We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Broughton

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Broughton deaths for 1820-1844.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1697. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Broughton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Broughton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The annals of a Tweeddale parish: the history of the United Parish of Broughton, Glenholm and Kilbucho (civil and ecclesiastical) by A. Baird, published 1924 at Glasgow.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT112366 (Lat/Lon: 55.614898, -3.411417), Broughton which are provided by:
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Pending - The section is active and has a maintainer assigned but a replacement maintainer is being sought. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact Vivienne Dunstan.