Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Drumelzier

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Drumelzier

"DRUMMELZIER, a parish in Peebles-shire. It contains a village of its own name; but its post-office is at Rachan-Mill, a little beyond its north-west limit. It is bounded on the south-west by Lanarkshire, and on other sides by the parishes of Glenholm, Stobo, Manor, Lyne, and Tweedsmuir ... Population of the parish in 1831, 223; in 1861, 209."
Fom the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Drumelzier area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1649. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Drumelzier which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Drummelzier is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

DRUMMELZIER, a parish in Peebles-shire. It contains a village of its own name; but its post-office is at Rachan-Mill, a little beyond its north-west limit. It is bounded on the south-west by Lanarkshire, and on other sides by the parishes of Glenholm, Stobo, Manor, Lyne, and Tweedsmuir. Its length south-westward is 13¼ miles; and its breadth varies from ¾ of a mile to 5 miles. It stretches from the mountain-ridge or water-line, which divides Peebles-shire from Lanark, away north-eastward into the centre of the county. Kingle doors burn rises in the heights which divide the two counties, and intersects a limb of the parish over a distance of 4½ miles. There the Tweed, having entered the parish from the south, flows directly across, receiving the waters of this burn on its way; and it thence forms the north-western boundary-line over a distance of 9 miles. On the other hand, the eastern or south-eastern boundary-line is formed by a ridge of heights which separate the local waters of Drummelzier from those of Manor. The body of the parish is thus a slope or acclivity of hills looking down upon the Tweed, and terminating in the vale upon its banks. Its indigenous brooks, 7 in number, all rise toward the east, and run down westward or north-westward to pour their waters into the Tweed. But though a hilly district, and forming a part of the southern high-lands, the parish contains much arable land, and is finely variegated with plantations and cultivated fields. The vale along the river is in general narrow; yet, in some places, it expands into beautiful haughs; and, where the rivulets break down from the heights, it opens into fine cleughs or glens. This vale is the chief scene of culture, and the principal seat of the population. The soil in the haughs is rich alluvial loam; but elsewhere is, in general, sharp and very stony. Limestone and slate are found, but are not worked. Drummelzier castle—formerly a seat of the Tweedie family, and a link in a chain of fortresses, now all in ruin, along the banks of the Tweed—overlooks the river from a beautiful site environed with plantation. There are, in the parish, vestiges of a Roman road, and of two old castles,—one of the latter 6 feet thick in the walls, and held together by a cement as hard as stone, yet so old, that no tradition remains of even the period of its destruction.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Drumelzier has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT135341 (Lat/Lon: 55.592856, -3.374126), Drumelzier which are provided by: