Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Eddleston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Eddleston

"EDDLESTONE, a parish, containing a post-office village of its own name, in the north of Peebles-shire. It is bounded by Edinburghshire, and by the parishes of Innerleithen, Peebles, Lyne, and Newlands ... Population of the parish in 1831, 836; in 1861, 753."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Eddleston deaths for 1714-1854.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eddleston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1713. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The Church of Scotland records for this parish held at the National Records of Scotland (NRS reference CH2/120) include some baptisms in the years 1640-1696, deaths for 1775-1795, and proclamations of marriages for 1665-1691.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Eddleston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Eddlestone is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

EDDLESTONE, a parish, containing a post-office village of its own name, in the north of Peebles-shire.  It is bounded by Edinburghshire, and by the parishes of Innerleithen, Peebles, Lyne, and Newlands.  It is of an oblong form, stretching from north to south; but has a considerable projection on the south-west.  Its extreme measurement from the confluence of Harehope burn and Meldon burn on the south, to Fernyhole on the north, is 10 miles; and from the confluence of two brooks at the base of Courhope hill on the west, to Burnhead on the east, is 5¼ miles.  Eddlestone water intersects it from north to south, and divides it into nearly equal parts.  This stream rises in the extreme north of the parish, pursues a course due south, receives on its way 8 or 10 tributary rills from the adjacent heights; and after leaving the parish flows direct toward the core of Peebles-shire, and there, at the burgh, the capital of the county, falls into the Tweed.  At Cowey's linn, it has a fall of 35 feet.  Its entire course, which is remarkably straight, does not exceed between 11 and 12 miles.  In the eastern division of the parish, about a mile from the boundary, is Loch Eddlestone, nearly of a circular form, 2 miles in circumference, and abounding in pike, eels, and perch.  Issuing from this lake is the South Esk, which pursues a course directly the reverse of that of Eddlestone water, flowing 3 miles due northward through the parish, and leaving it within about a mile of the Eddlestone's primary sources.  The entire surface of the parish may be described as an agglomeration of smooth hills, verdant to their summits, tame in their general appearance, but at intervals surprising the tourist by sudden disclosures of picturesque varieties, and romantic cleughs and dells.  Along the eastern boundary, the summits are towering and alpine, one of them rising to the height of 2,100 feet above the level of the sea.  See DUNDROICH.  The vales or basins of the streams are in general little other than gigantic furrows in the wide field of hills.  If the entire area of the parish be reckoned at 264 parts, 54 of them are in tillage, 13 under wood, and 197 pastoral or waste.  The principal landowners are Mackenzie of Portmore and Lord Elibank.  Real rental in 1834, £6,364.  Estimated yearly value of raw produce in 1834, £13,693.  Assessed property in 1860, £7,568 0s.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Eddleston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT244472 (Lat/Lon: 55.712354, -3.204821), Eddleston which are provided by: