Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Glenholm

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Glenholm

"GLENHOLM, a section of the modern united parish of Broughton, Glenholm, and Kilbucho, in Peebles-shire. It consists of a vale 2 miles broad, and nearly 7 miles long, drained by Holms water. Along one-half of its eastern boundary, it is traced and enlivened by the brilliant Tweed; and, along its northern boundary, it is separated from the parish of Stobo by Biggar water. Nowhere does it touch Broughton except at its north-west angle; but, over two-thirds of its length, it marches with Kilbucho ... In the upper part of it, at a place called Chapelgill, there was formerly a chapel. The parish-church, though now abandoned for that of the united parish situated in Kilbucho, was rebuilt so late as 1775."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Glenholm deaths for 1822-1851.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1851 census for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Glenholm area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1747. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Glenholm which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Glenholm is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

GLENHOLM, a section of the modern united parish of Broughton, Glenholm, and Kilbucho, in Peebles-shire.  It consists of a vale 2 miles broad, and nearly 7 miles long, drained by Holms water.  Along one-half of its eastern boundary, it is traced and enlivened by the brilliant Tweed; and, along its northern boundary, it is separated from the parish of Stobo by Biggar water.  Nowhere does it touch Broughton except at its north-west angle; but, over two-thirds of its length, it marches with Kilbucho.  It is beautiful and lovely in its features.  Nearly all of it is a delightful pastoral vale, cut lengthways into two nearly equal parts by Holms water, which flows so gently, and lingers with such fondness amongst the charms of the overseeing landscape, that the northerly or the southerly direction of its motion is doubted by the tourist till he comes close upon its banks.  Yet the stream, though placid, is not sluggish; and the valley, though soft and mild, is exultant in the gorgeous framework of one of the richest districts of the southern highlands.  Collateral glens, too, come down upon the main valley, and seem like joyous and beautiful children pressing upon the sides of a happy and rejoicing mother.  Glenhigton, Glencotho, Glenkirk, and Glenludo, all partake the beauteousness of the parent valley of Glenholm, and bring down upon its smiling stream their tributary rills.  Glenholm was anciently a rectory in the deanery of Peebles.  In the upper part of it, at a place called Chapelgill, there was formerly a chapel.  The parish-church, though now abandoned for that of the united parish situated in Kilbucho, was rebuilt so late as 1775.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Glenholm has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Glenholm to another place.

History

  • The annals of a Tweeddale parish: the history of the United Parish of Broughton, Glenholm and Kilbucho (civil and ecclesiastical) by A. Baird, published 1924 at Glasgow.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT103329 (Lat/Lon: 55.581497, -3.424496), Glenholm which are provided by: