Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Innerleithen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Innerleithen

"INNERLEITHEN, a parish partly in Selkirkshire, but chiefly in Peebles-shire; and containing, in the latter section, a post-office village of its own name. It is bounded, on the north-east, by Edinburghshire and the Selkirkshire part of Stow; on the south, by the Tweed, which divides it from Yarrow parish in Selkirkshire and Traquair parish in Peebles-shire; and on the west, by the parishes of Peebles and Eddlestone ... Population in 1831, 810; in 1861, 1,823."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

The Borders Family History Society has published a CD of monumental inscriptions in Innerleithen Leithen Road and Traquair Road burial grounds.

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Innerleithen burials for 1824-1854.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Innerleithen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1642. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Innerleithen which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Innerleithen is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

Innerleithen, a parish partly in Selkirkshire, but chiefly in Peebles-shire; and containing in the latter section, a post-office village of its own name.  It is bounded, on the north-east, by Edinburghshire and the Selkirkshire part of Stow; on the south, by the Tweed, which divides it from Yarrow parish in Selkirkshire and Traquair parish in Peebles-shire; and on the west, by the parishes of Peebles and Eddlestone.  It has a somewhat triangular outline; and measures, along the northeast side, 11¼ miles,—along the south side, 7¼ miles,—and, along the west side, 6 miles.  The Selkirkshire section is a stripe on the south-east side, ascending 5½ miles from the Tweed, with a breadth of from 7 furlongs to 2½ miles.  The surface of the entire parish gradually rises from the Tweed to the northern extremity, and has, in general, a broken, rugged, and precipitous appearance.  Hills, forming part of the broad range which diverges at an acute angle from the central chain of the southern Highlands at the Hartfell group, and runs northeastward to St.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Innerleithen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

A number of books about Innerleithen have been written by Bob Richardson, including Innerleithen Shops and Snippets & Photos About Old Innerleithen.

  • Innerleithen and Traquair, Ancient and Modern by H. Anderson, published 1984 at Bognor Regis
  • The cleikum: being interesting reminscences of old Innerleithen by J.A. Anderson, published 1933 at Galashiels
  • Reminiscenes of Innerleithen and Traquair by T. Dobson, published 1896 at Innerleithen

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT331367 (Lat/Lon: 55.619304, -3.063816), Innerleithen which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 559
  • 1801 - 609
  • 1831 - 810
  • 1861 - 1823

Taxation

The June 2000 issue of the Borders Family History Society magazine includes a transcript of the Innerleithen Poll Tax Roll of 1694, a document held like many other taxation records in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh (NRS reference SC.42/5/8). This particular document also includes details of some local rentals, listing for many lands the value, tenant, and rent paid.