GENUKI Home page
Up Peeblesshire Contents Contents

Innerleithen

View a Map of the Area.
"INNERLEITHEN, a parish partly in Selkirkshire, but chiefly in Peebles-shire; and containing, in the latter section, a post-office village of its own name. It is bounded, on the north-east, by Edinburghshire and the Selkirkshire part of Stow; on the south, by the Tweed, which divides it from Yarrow parish in Selkirkshire and Traquair parish in Peebles-shire; and on the west, by the parishes of Peebles and Eddlestone ... Population in 1831, 810; in 1861, 1,823." from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

The Borders Family History Society has published a CD of monumental inscriptions in Innerleithen Leithen Road and Traquair Road burial grounds.

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Innerleithen burials for 1824-1854.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1642. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

A 19th century account of Innerleithen is available online.

History

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Taxation

The June 2000 issue of the Borders Family History Society magazine includes a transcript of the Innerleithen Poll Tax Roll of 1694, a document held like many other taxation records in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh (NRS reference SC.42/5/8). This particular document also includes details of some local rentals, listing for many lands the value, tenant, and rent paid.


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 5th September 2011

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.