Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kilbucho

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kilbucho

"KILBUCHO, a parish on the west border of Peebles-shire, united to Broughton and Glenholm ... It is bounded by Lanarkshire, Skirling, Broughton, and Glenholm ... Population in 1831, 353; in 1851, 345."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1851 census for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilbucho area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1749. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kilbucho which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Kilbucho is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

KILBUCHO, a parish on the west border of Peebles-shire, united to Broughton and Glenholm.  See BROUGHTON.  It is bounded by Lanarkshire, Skirling, Broughton, and Glenholm.  It has a triangular outline, measuring 4½ miles on the north side, the same on the south-east side, and 3¾ on the south-west side.  Biggar-water, coming in from the north-west, traces nearly the whole of the northern boundary.  Kilbucho-water rises on the side of Cardon-hill at the southern angle, runs 1¼ mile due north, and thence flows north-eastward parallel with the south-east boundary, till it falls into Biggar-water.  Cardon-hill rises 1,400 feet above the level of the Tweed, which is at 3 miles' distance.  From theis hill a chain runs north-eastward till it strikes Biggar-water; and over the whole distance it forms a water-shedding line, constitutes the boundary, and consists of heights whose sides and summits are covered with heath and grass.  At the base of this ridge is a narrow and pleasant vale watered by the Kilbucho.  Screening this vale on the north-west side, and parellel with the first ridge, is a broader and less stronger featured stretch of heights, also clothed in mingled russet and green.  Beyond this ridge, a beautiful valley, comparatively broader and finely decorated with wood on the west, somewhat contracted as it advances eastward, and again expanding as it forms an angular junction with the former valley, stretches along the Biggar-water.  In the north-east angle stands the church of the united parishes; and 1½ mile inward, from the southern angle is the site of the ancient church of Kilbucho.  The saint from whom the parish has its name was either a female called Bega, of whom nothing is known, or, more probably, by a corruption of the orthography, the celebrated Bede.  Tradition reports that a number of monks of Bede's order settled in the parish, and that they raised some beautiful banks which still exist.  A well of excellent water, also, bears the name of St.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kilbucho has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The annals of a Tweeddale parish: the history of the United Parish of Broughton, Glenholm and Kilbucho (civil and ecclesiastical) by A. Baird, published 1924 at Glasgow.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT089351 (Lat/Lon: 55.600999, -3.447424), Kilbucho which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 279
  • 1831 - 353
  • 1851 - 345