Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Manor

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"MANOR, or MANNER, a parish, containing a post-office station of its own name, in Peebles-shire. It is bounded by Selkirkshire, and by Megget, Drummelzier, Stobo, and Peebles ... Population in 1831, 254; in 1861, 247."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.


The Source of Manor was published in 1999, compiled by Lyne and Manor Youth Group. The book is 288 pages long, and includes many interesting photographs and facts about the Manor Valley. For further details of the book, including its cost, please contact the youth group on email at


The Borders Family History Society has published a CD of monumental inscriptions for the parishes of Lyne and Megget, and Manor.

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Manor deaths for 1820-1848. Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.


Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Manor area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1663. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Manor which are provided by:


A 19th century account of Manor is available online.


1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

MANOR, or MANNER, a parish, containing a post-office station of its own name, Peebles-shire.  It is bounded by Selkirkshire, and by Megget, Drummelzier, Stobo, and Peebles.  Its length northward is 8¾ miles; and its breadth varies from 1 mile to 5¾ miles.  The Tweed traces the boundary from 3½ miles on the north-west and the north.  Manor-water, rising close on the southern boundary, and uniformly pursuing a northerly course, traverses the parish for 6½ miles nearly along the middle, and then runs wendingly 2¾ miles near or along the eastern boundary to the Tweed, 1¾ mile above the town of Peebles.  About 16 streamlets, most of them tiny mountain-rills, and the chief of them Newholmhope-burn, Glenrath-burn, and Haddleshope-burn, not more than 3¼ miles in length, comes transversely down upon the Manor, ploughing their way along ravines and glens.  The boundary-line, except over the northern narrow third of the parish, is formed by water-shedding mountain-ridges; and all the interior, except a narrow vale along the Manor, and some beautiful haugh-ground upon the Tweed, is strictly and wildly upland.  Excepting two heights, one in the interior, and one on the boundary, all the elevations constitute an elliptical range, narrow on the south, broad along the sides, and shorn down into plain or cut away on the north.  The acclivities are in general rapid; and toward the source of the Manor, or the head of its vale, they closely approach, and are mural and towering.  Many of them are scarred, or, in local phrase, sclentered, and reflect the sun's rays with a brilliance which gives warmth to the tillage in the vale.  All appear, at least wherever the rock looks out from the surface, to consist of greywacke, the strata running north and south, and dipping to the west; and on their higher acclivities are heathy, but on their sides and their lower acclivities are in general more or less grassy.  The loftiest summit is DOLLAR-LAW: which see.  Scrape, on the boundary with Drummelzier, has an elevation of 2,800 feet; and nearly all the summits rise from between 1,600 to 1,900 feet above sea-level.  The valley grounds, the haughs, and the arable heights, amounting in the aggregate to about 1,700 acres, are drained, fully enclosed, and in excellent cultivation; and though carpeted with clay and loam of no great depth, are fertile to a degree surpassing theory in so bleak

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Manor has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT221381 (Lat/Lon: 55.630242, -3.238832), Manor which are provided by:


Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 320
  • 1801 - 308
  • 1811 - 302
  • 1831 - 254
  • 1861 - 247