Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Newlands

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Newlands

"NEWLANDS, a parish, containing the post-office station of Noblehouse, in the north of Peebles-shire. It is bounded on the north by Edinburghshire, and on other sides by the parishes of Eddlestone, Lyne, Stobo, Kirkurd, and Linton ... Population in 1831, 1,078; in 1861, 987."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newlands area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1677. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Newlands which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Newlands is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

NEWLANDS, a parish, containing the post-office station of Noblehouse, in the north of Peebles-shire.  it is bounded on the north by Edinburghshire, and on the other sides by the parishes of Eddlestone, Lyne, Stobo, Kirkurd, and Linton.  Its length south-south-westward is about 9 miles; and its greatest breadth is about 3¾ miles.  The river Lyne, flowing in a southerly direction, runs 2¼ miles along the western boundary, and 3¾ through the interior; and receives on its left bank, in drainage of a large part of the parish, the streams of Dead and Flemington burns.  The Tarth describes over 2¾ miles the whole of the south-western and southern boundary to the Lyne.  These streams are in request with the angler.  A ridge of gently-ascending heights extends between the Lyne and the Tarth, occupies the south-west corner of the parish, and is variously occupied by wood and pasture.  Along nearly the whole of the west side of the parish extends a hilly range bearing various subordinate names, and the general one of Kellyheads, parallel to the Pentlands, and interrupted only by the glen of Flemington-burn.  Along the west base of this range lies the vale of Dead-burn and of the Lyne, forming the central belt of the parochial area, and comprising most of its arable ground.  The hills are, for the most part, green and heathless, and frequently dotted and clumped with wood.  Trees thrive in every part of the parish, and cover about 340 acres.  The land occasionally or regularly in tillage comprises upwards of 3,300 acres; and is chiefly a clayey loam, with a subsoil of close stiff till.  The rock of the Kellyheads range is trap, abounding in fissures and rich in iron ore; and the rocks in the eastern district, on the estates of Whim, Lamancha, and Magbiehill, are those of the coal formation, comprising limestone, sandstone, shale, and coal.  The limestone is extensively worked; the sandstone has been worked chiefly farther down in the vale, in the hill of Broomyleas; and the coal is limitedly worked.  Chalybeate springs are numerous; and there are artificial ponds at Whim, Lamancha, and Magbiehill.  There are twelve landowners, with each a rental of upwards of £100.  The estimated value of raw produce in 1834 was £8,448 for crops, £2,110 for produce of sheep-pasture, £1,830 for dairy produce, and £1,502 for sales of black cattle.  The value of assessed property in 18

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newlands has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newlands to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT536213 (Lat/Lon: 55.483329, -2.735757), Newlands which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 1009
  • 1790 - 891
  • 1801 - 950
  • 1811 - 1163
  • 1821 - 1041
  • 1831 - 1078
  • 1861 - 987