We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Skirling

"SKIRLING, a parish, containing a post-office village of its own name, on the west border of Peebles-shire. It is bounded by Lanarkshire, and by Kirkurd, Broughton, and Kilbucho ... Population of the parish in 1831, 358; in 1861, 317."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Skirling deaths for 1783-1794.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1665. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Skirling which are provided by:

Gazetteers

A 19th century account of Skirling is available online.

Gazetteers

1868, Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published by A. Fullarton and Co

SKIRLING, a parish, containing a post-office village of its own name, on the west border of Peebles-shire.  It is bounded by Lanarkshire, and by Kirkurd, Broughton, and Kilbucho.  Its length southward is 3¾ miles; and its greatest breadth is 1¾ mile.  Its surface all lies at a considerable height above sea-level, and is rolling and uneven; yet has no mountains, and only three hills, all small and verdant.  About four-fifths of it are in tillage; about 30 acres are wooded; and what remains is partly moorland, but chiefly green pasture.  The soil, though generally light, is fertile.  The drainage is into Biggar-water, which runs eastward along the southern boundary.  The yearly value of raw produce was estimated in 1834 at £5,614.  The real rental in 1860 was £2,274.  The village if Skirling stands near the middle of the parish, 2½ miles north-east of Biggar, and 25 south-south-west of Edinburgh.  Fairs are held here on the Wednesday after the 11th of June, and on the 15th of September.  Population of the village, about 100.  Population of the parish in 1831, 358; in 1861, 317.  Houses, 63.

This parish is in the presbytery of Biggar, and synod of Lothian and Tweeddale.  Patron, Sir W. H. Carmichael, Bart.  Stipend, £239 19s. 1d.; glebe, £50.  Unappropriated teinds, £60 0s. 11d.  Schoolmaster's salary, £45, with about £26 fees.  The parish church is a very ancient building, largely repaired in 1720, and containing upwards of 200 sittings.  There is a Free church, with an attendance of 190; and the amount of its receipts in 1865 was £115 5s. 11d.  There is a subscription library.  The name of the parish was anciently written Scrawline, and appears in record in that form in the reign of King Robert the Bruce.

(See more)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Skirling has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT075391 (Lat/Lon: 55.636664, -3.470981), Skirling which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 335
  • 1801 - 308
  • 1811 - 310
  • 1821 - 345
  • 1831 - 358
  • 1861 - 317
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Pending - The section is active and has a maintainer assigned but a replacement maintainer is being sought. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact Vivienne Dunstan.