GENUKI Home page
Up Peeblesshire Contents Contents

Skirling

View a Map of the Area.
"SKIRLING, a parish, containing a post-office village of its own name, on the west border of Peebles-shire. It is bounded by Lanarkshire, and by Kirkurd, Broughton, and Kilbucho ... Population of the parish in 1831, 358; in 1861, 317." from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Skirling deaths for 1783-1794.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1665. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

A 19th century account of Skirling is available online.

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 5th September 2011

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.