"KENMORE, village and parish in Breadalbane district, Perthshire. The village stands at efflux of river Tay from Loch Tay, 6 miles west-south-west of Aberfeldy; is a neat small place, with picturesque environs, described in well-known lines of the poet Burns; and has a post office under Aberfeldy, a five-arched bridge, a hotel, and Established and Free churches. - The parish contains also the hamlets of Acharn, Bridgend, Blairmore, Lawers, and Sronfernan; comprises a main body and two detached sections; measures, across intersecting lands, about 20 miles in length and 7 miles in greatest breadth; and comprises 67,196 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £12,211. Pop. 1508. The surface comprises very little low land; embraces most part of Loch Tay; includes most of both flanks of that lake, together with tracts of Glenlochy and Glenqueich; and culminates, on north side of Loch Tay, in summit of Benlawers. A chief object is the Earl of Breadalbane's magnificent seat of Taymouth Castle; another seat is Shian; and chief antiquities are Finlarig ruined castle, on upper part of Loch Tay, and the ruins of an ancient priory on an inlet near the lake's foot. Free churches are at Ardeonaig and Lawers, and public schools are at Acarn, Lawers, Ardtalnaig, Kiltyrie, Glenlochy, and Fearnan."
Wilson, Rev. John, The Gazeteer of Scotland, 1882
The interment register is available at the local council offices in Pitlochry. Please consult the cemeteries page
There are pre-1855 inscriptions available in Monumental inscriptions (pre-1855) in North Perthshire.
The GRO(S) Ref. No. is 360. Please consult the county page for general information.
An index for 1851 is available from Tay Valley FHS.
Please consult the county page for general information.
Church of Scotland (OPR)
GRO(S) Ref. No. 360/1 B 1636-1702 M 1636-1702 D- 360/2 B 1702-80 M 1702-80 D- 360/3 B 1762-1819 M 1762-1819 D- 360/4 B 1820-54 M 1820-54 D-
- The transcription of the section for Kenmore from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.