Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Abbey

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Abbey

"ABBEY, parish, containing parts of Paisley and Barrhead, all Johnstone, and several villages in Renfrewshire. Its length is nearly 9 miles, its greatest breadth about 5½ miles, its area 15,924 acres.... The surface is partly flat, partly a variety of valley, undulation, and low hill-ridge, and partly the Gleniffer portion of the Fereneze Hills. Coal, ironstone, limestone, and aluminous slate abound, and are largely worked. Factories and other industrial establishments are numerous. There are many fine modern residences, several old mansions, and the ruined castles of Crookston and Stanley. The parochial church is part of the Abbey, to be noticed in our account of Paisley; and other churches are in Paisley, Barrhead, Johnstone, and Elderslie. 10 schools, for 2338 scholars, are in the parts outside Paisley burgh, and 2 of them and enlargements for 1098 are new."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Abbey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Abbey parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1676-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1670-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1759-1826

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Abbey which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Abbey to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Abbey has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Abbey to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS485639 (Lat/Lon: 55.844493, -4.421238), Abbey which are provided by: