Abbey
"ABBEY, parish, containing parts of Paisley and Barrhead, all Johnstone, and several villages in Renfrewshire. Its length is nearly 9 miles, its greatest breadth about 5½ miles, its area 15,924 acres.... The surface is partly flat, partly a variety of valley, undulation, and low hill-ridge, and partly the Gleniffer portion of the Fereneze Hills. Coal, ironstone, limestone, and aluminous slate abound, and are largely worked. Factories and other industrial establishments are numerous. There are many fine modern residences, several old mansions, and the ruined castles of Crookston and Stanley. The parochial church is part of the Abbey, to be noticed in our account of Paisley; and other churches are in Paisley, Barrhead, Johnstone, and Elderslie. 10 schools, for 2338 scholars, are in the parts outside Paisley burgh, and 2 of them and enlargements for 1098 are new."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Abbey parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1676-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1670-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1759-1826
- Churches in Abbey (NS485639):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Abbey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Abbey which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Abbey to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Abbey has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS485639 (Lat/Lon: 55.844493, -4.421238), Abbey which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview