Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Eaglesham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Eaglesham

"EAGLESHAM, town and parish in south-east of Renfrewshire. The parish is about 7 miles long and 6 miles broad, and comprises 15,666 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £14,675. Pop. 1385. The surface list at elevations of more than 500 feet above sea level, has hills from 1000 to 1200 feet of altitude, and includes a considerable aggregate of moor. Polnoon Lodge is a chief residence; and Polnoon Castle, the seat of the ancestors of the Earl of Eglinton, but now reduced to mere sub-basement, is a chief antiquity."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eaglesham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eaglesham parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1659-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1723-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Eaglesham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eaglesham to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Eaglesham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Eaglesham to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS573518 (Lat/Lon: 55.738543, -4.274476), Eaglesham which are provided by: