Eaglesham

"EAGLESHAM, town and parish in south-east of Renfrewshire. The parish is about 7 miles long and 6 miles broad, and comprises 15,666 acres. Real property in 1880-81, 14,675. Pop. 1385. The surface list at elevations of more than 500 feet above sea level, has hills from 1000 to 1200 feet of altitude, and includes a considerable aggregate of moor. Polnoon Lodge is a chief residence; and Polnoon Castle, the seat of the ancestors of the Earl of Eglinton, but now reduced to mere sub-basement, is a chief antiquity."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Bibliography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eaglesham parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1659-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1723-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eaglesham to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS573518 (Lat/Lon: 55.738543, -4.274476), Eaglesham which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Eaglesham/index.shtml