Eastwood

"EASTWOOD, parish, containing Pollockshaws And Thornliebank towns and Shawlands village, on border of Renfrewshire, near south-west side of Glasgow. Its length is nearly 4 miles; its greatest breadth 3¾ miles; its area 5596 acres. Real property in 1880-81, 61,499. Pop., quoad civilia, 13,915; quoad sacra, 7368. The surface lies at an elevation of from about 30 to about 300 feet above sea-level; is an assemblage of flats, vales, and many swells and small hills with intersections of the White Cart and other streams; and presents, in the aggregate, a very beautiful appearance. Sandstone, limestone, ironstone, and coal are worked. Pollock House, a seat of Sir John M. Maxwell, Bart., is a prominent mansion."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Church Records

"Two Established churches, 2 Free churches, a United Presbyterian church, a United Original Secession church, and a Roman Catholic church are in Pollockshaws, an Established church is in Shawlands, and a United Presbyterian church is in Thornliebank."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

The parish church records are held in the

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eastwood parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1674-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1693-1756 and 1759-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Bibliography

Cemeteries

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Census

Church History

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eastwood to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS557583 (Lat/Lon: 55.796425, -4.303377), Eastwood which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Eastwood/index.shtml