Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Erskine

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"ERSKINE, parish, and the hamlets of Blackstown and Easter Rossland. Its length is 6¾ miles; its greatest breadth 3½ miles; its area 7535 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £19,602. Pop., quoad civilia, 1655; quoad sacra, 1073. The land adjacent to the Clyde is flat and fertile; the ground behind on south side of the Clyde in Renfrewshire. It lies opposite Dumbarton Castle, and contains the post-office villages of Langbank and Bishopton that makes considerable ascent; and a pleasant hill-ridge occupies most of the western section. Erskine House, the seat of Lord Blantyre, is a beautiful Tudor edifice of 1828, and has, on an eminence within its grounds, a lofty obeliskal monument of the eleventh Lord Blantyre. Other seats are Dargavel, Rossland, and Eastbank. Erskine ferry, on the Clyde, serves for both pedestrians and carriages. The churches are Established, Free, and United Presbyterian. Thre schools for 336 scholars are in the parish, and one of them and class-rooms for 167 are new."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Erskine area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

"The churches are Established, Free, and United Presbyterian.."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Erskine parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1705-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1705-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1852-1854

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Erskine which are provided by:


Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Erskine to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Erskine has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS455715 (Lat/Lon: 55.911764, -4.473439), Erskine which are provided by: