Greenock
"GREENOCK, town and three parishes on Firth of Clyde, in north-west of Renfrewshire. ..... The parishes are East, Middle, and West; they are treated in many respects as one; and they contain Fort Matilda and a suburb of Port Glasgow. Their length along the coast is 43/4 miles; their greatest breadth nearly 3 miles; their area 6021 acres. ..... Pop. of the East, 21,6111; of the Middle, 6180; of the West, 40,627. ..... The shore is low and sandy; the immediate seaboard, or belt contiguous to the shore, is low and flat; the western section inward from that belt is Binnan's Hill, rising gradually to a high, bold, abrupt face overhanging Fort Matilda; the tract immediately south-west of the town is a fine hill-girt vale, traversed by road and railway toward Innerkip; the tract from that vale to the eastern boundary is a hill-group or hill-ridge with summits from 804 to 995 feet high; and the south-eastern section is high moorland, with sources of Gryfe river. Sandstone and trap rock are quarried."<.p>
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Greenock, East parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1809-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1809-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;
for Greenock, Middle or New parish:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1741-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1741-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1741-1752;
and for Greenock, West or Old parish:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1698-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1698-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1722-1747.
- Churches in Greenock (NS279761):
- Church of Scotland
- Middle Church, Church of Scotland
- St Mary, Patrick Street, Roman Catholic
- St Patrick, Orangefield Place, Roman Catholic
- St John, Union Street, Scottish Episcopal
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Greenock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Greenock to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Greenock has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS279761 (Lat/Lon: 55.947074, -4.757610), Greenock which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview