Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Houston and Killallan

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Houston and Killallan

"HOUSTON, village and parish in north centre of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also Crosslee village and part of Bridge of Weir. Its length is 6 miles; its greatest breadth 3¼ miles; its area 7585 acres. ..... Pop. 2191. The western section is uneven, and partly pastoral. The eastern section is flat, and consists mostly of fertile arable land, but includes a moss of about 300 acres. The moss was leased in 1879 to Glasgow City Corporation, and began immediately to be subjected, with aid of local railway, to a process of fertilization, by distribution on it of refust from the city. Coal, limestone, and sandstone are found. Cotton-spinning and bleaching are largely carried on. The seats are Houston House and Barrochan; and chief antiquities are Barrochan Cross, an altar-tomb in chancel of ancient church, and the site of a fine old baronial castle. A Free church is at Bridge of Weir. 5 schools for 561 scholars are in the parish, and class-rooms in them for 125 are new."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

 

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Houston and Killallan area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

"A Free church is at Bridge of Weir."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Houston parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1720-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1720-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Killallan parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1731-1772
Marriages or Banns ~ 1731-1771 and 1820-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Houston and Killallan which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Houston to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Houston and Killallan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS411670 (Lat/Lon: 55.869938, -4.541116), Houston and Killallan which are provided by: