Houston and Killallan
"HOUSTON, village and parish in north centre of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also Crosslee village and part of Bridge of Weir. Its length is 6 miles; its greatest breadth 31/4 miles; its area 7585 acres. ..... Pop. 2191. The western section is uneven, and partly pastoral. The eastern section is flat, and consists mostly of fertile arable land, but includes a moss of about 300 acres. The moss was leased in 1879 to Glasgow City Corporation, and began immediately to be subjected, with aid of local railway, to a process of fertilization, by distribution on it of refust from the city. Coal, limestone, and sandstone are found. Cotton-spinning and bleaching are largely carried on. The seats are Houston House and Barrochan; and chief antiquities are Barrochan Cross, an altar-tomb in chancel of ancient church, and the site of a fine old baronial castle. A Free church is at Bridge of Weir. 5 schools for 561 scholars are in the parish, and class-rooms in them for 125 are new."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
"KILLALLAN, ancient parish, now united to Houston, Renfrewshire."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
"A Free church is at Bridge of Weir."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Houston parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1720-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1720-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Killallan parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1731-1772
Marriages or Banns ~ 1731-1771 and 1820-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Churches in Houston (NS411670):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Houston and Killallan area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
- View pictures of Houston.
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Houston to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Houston and Killallan has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS411670 (Lat/Lon: 55.869938, -4.541116), Houston which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview