Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Inchinnan

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Inchinnan

"INCHINNAN, parish on the Clyde, north-westward from the Cart, Renfrewshire. Its post town is Paisley. Its length is 3¼ miles; its greatest breadth 2¾ miles; its area 3330 acres. ..... Pop. 505. The surface is partly flat, partly diversified by diluvial rising-grounds, and all highly cultinated. The seats are Park and South Barr; and other objects of interest are the sites of Inchinnan Palace and North Barr baronial fortalice. The lands and the quondam palace belonged to successively the High Stewards of Scotland and the Earls of Lennox."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

 

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Inchinnan area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

"The parochial church occupies the site of a Culdee cell, and is a handsome edifice of 1828. The Free church was erected subsequent to 1843."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Inchinnan parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1722-1848
Marriages or Banns ~ 1722-1850
Deaths or Burials ~ 1783-1789

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Inchinnan which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Inchinnan to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Inchinnan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS477691 (Lat/Lon: 55.890921, -4.436925), Inchinnan which are provided by: