Inchinnan

"INCHINNAN, parish on the Clyde, north-westward from the Cart, Renfrewshire. Its post town is Paisley. Its length is 3 1/4 miles; its greatest breadth 2 3/4 miles; its area 3330 acres. ..... Pop. 505. The surface is partly flat, partly diversified by diluvial rising-grounds, and all highly cultinated. The seats are Park and South Barr; and other objects of interest are the sites of Inchinnan Palace and North Barr baronial fortalice. The lands and the quondam palace belonged to successively the High Stewards of Scotland and the Earls of Lennox."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Bibliography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History

Church Records

"The parochial church occupies the site of a Culdee cell, and is a handsome edifice of 1828. The Free church was erected subsequent to 1843."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Inchinnan parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1722-1848
Marriages or Banns ~ 1722-1850
Deaths or Burials ~ 1783-1789

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Inchinnan to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS477691 (Lat/Lon: 55.890921, -4.436925), Inchinnan which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Inchinnan/index.shtml