Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Inverkip

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"INNERKIP, village and parish in extreme west of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also the town of Gourock, measures 6¼ miles by 5¾ miles and comprises 12,549 acres. ..... Pop., quoad civilia, 5359; quoad sacra, 882. The surface is bounded on the east by lofty hills, on the north and the west by Firth of Clyde, on the south by Kelly burn; is intersected south-westward by the narrow vale of Kip rivulet; consists chiefly of bleak moors and pastoral heights; has a narrow strip of low ground along the coast; and exhibits great diversity of feature, and considerable aggregate of embellishment. The seats are Ardgowan, Kelly, Leven, Langhouse, Ashburn, and Gourock House; and antiquities are Ardgowan old tower and a Roman bridge on Dunrod burn. Five places of worship and 2 public schools are in Gourock." ...

"... The village stands on Kip rivulet, 3 furlongs from its mouth, and 6 miles south-west of Greenock; is a pleasant place with charming environs; and has a post office under Greenock, a railway station, a hotel, a handsome Established church, a Free church, a fine mausoleum of the Shaw-Stewart family, and a public school with about 172 scholars. Pop. 580."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Inverkip area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Innerkip or Inverkip parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1694-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1757-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Inverkip which are provided by:


Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Inverkip or Innerkip to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Inverkip has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS209719 (Lat/Lon: 55.906827, -4.866768), Inverkip which are provided by: