GENUKI Home page
Renfrewshire Renfrewshire    Contents Contents

Innerkip or Inverkip

"INNERKIP, village and parish in extreme west of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also the town of Gourock, measures 6 1/4 miles by 5 3/4 miles and comprises 12,549 acres. ..... Pop., quoad civilia, 5359; quoad sacra, 882. The surface is bounded on the east by lofty hills, on the north and the west by Firth of Clyde, on the south by Kelly burn; is intersected south-westward by the narrow vale of Kip rivulet; consists chiefly of bleak moors and pastoral heights; has a narrow strip of low ground along the coast; and exhibits great diversity of feature, and considerable aggregate of embellishment. The seats are Ardgowan, Kelly, Leven, Langhouse, Ashburn, and Gourock House; and antiquities are Ardgowan old tower and a Roman bridge on Dunrod burn. Five places of worship and 2 public schools are in Gourock."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Towns and Villages

Gourock (town)
Innerkip or Inverkip (village)

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Innerkip or Inverkip parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1694-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1757-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records


Page produced by Louise Smith.
Last updated: 15th March 2002, 05:14 GMT