Kilbarchan

"KILBARCHAN, town and parish in centre of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also Clippens-Square and Linwood villages, and part of Bridge of Weir town; measures about 7 miles by 4; and comprises 9006 acres. ..... The north-eastern section, peninsulated by the Gryfe and the Black Cart, is low and flat; the middle section is diversified by many rising-grounds; and the south-western section rises into considerable hills. The seats are Milliken, Blackstone, Glentyan, Craigends, and Clippens; and chief antiquities are ruins of Ranfurly Castle, remains of a semi-circular camp, and sites of several medieval chapels. A Free church is at Bridge of Weir."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Bibliography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilbarchan parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1651-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1650-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1743-1744

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kilbarchan to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS405635 (Lat/Lon: 55.838324, -4.548636), Kilbarchan which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Kilbarchan/index.shtml