Kilmalcolm (Kilmacolm)
"KILMALCOLM, town and parish in lower ward of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish measures 7½ miles by 6½ comprises 19,665 acres. ..... Pop. 2708. The south-eastern section is a shelving valley, traversed by upper part of Gryfe river; the northern section is a slope from left flank of that valley downward to the Clyde; the south-western section is mostly moss; and the western section is mostly waste or pastoral hill. Chief residences are Duchall, Carruth, Finlayston, Broadfield, and villas on the Clyde."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmalcolm parish span the following years:Births or Baptisms ~ 1710-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1695-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1817-1832
- Churches in Kilmalcolm (NS360696):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilmalcolm area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Kilmalcolm to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Kilmacolm has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
History
Various gazetteers differ as to the origin of this placeneme. For a period in the 18th century, Kilmacolm was generally spelled 'Kilmalcolm', based on a presumption that the settlement's name was derived from Malcolm III, one of the former kings of Scotland. In 1905 the accepted spelling became 'Kilmacolm', the general consensus now is that Kilmacolm takes its name from the Gaelic language meaning a cell or church of Columba, derived from the dedication of its ancient church to St. Columba of Iona.Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS360696 (Lat/Lon: 55.891566, -4.624105), Kilmalcolm which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview