Lochwinnoch

"LOCHWINNOCH, town and parish in southwest border of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also the villages of Howwood and Newton-of-Beltrees, measures about 12 miles by 6, and comprises 19,507 acres. ..... The surface is bisected by Castle-Semple Loch, includes a rich valley along the sides of that lake, rises thence vry irregularly to the south-eastern and north-western boundaries, and culminates in the north-west in the lofty hill of Mistylaw. Coal, limestone, and sandstone are worked. Chief seats are Castle-Semple, Barr, and Garthland; and chief antiquities are Barr, Elliston, and Auchenbathie castles. A chapel-of-ease is at Howwood, and 5 schools for 597 scholars are in the parish."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Bibliography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History

Church Records

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Lochwinnoch parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1718-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1718-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lochwinnoch to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS352588 (Lat/Lon: 55.794357, -4.630325), Lochwinnoch which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Lochwinnoch/index.shtml