Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Mearns

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Mearns

"MEARNS, parish, containing Newton Mearns village and part of Busby town, in south-east of Renfrewshire. Its length is 7½ miles; its greatest breadth 3⅓ miles; its area 10,281 acres. ..... Pop. 3965. The surface rises gradually from north-east to south-west, is mostly diversified with rising-grounds and small green hills, and includes, in the north-west, a considerable extent of moor. Chief seats are Upper Pollock, Capelrig, Southfield, and Greenbank; and the chief antiquity is Mearns Castle, a well-preserved ancient tower, once the principal seat of the Earls of Nithsdale. ..... There were formerly 6 schools for 467 scholars, and there are now, in lieu of these, 2 new ones for 815."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mearns area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

"The churches, including those in Busby, are Established, Free and 2 United Presbyterian."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Mearns parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1756-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1825-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Mearns which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Mearns to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Mearns has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS549552 (Lat/Lon: 55.768354, -4.314476), Mearns which are provided by: