Mearns

"MEARNS, parish, containing Newton Mearns village and part of Busby town, in south-east of Renfrewshire. Its length is 7 1/2 miles; its greatest breadth 3 1/3 miles; its area 10,281 acres. ..... Pop. 3965. The surface rises gradually from north-east to south-west, is mostly diversified with rising-grounds and small green hills, and includes, in the north-west, a considerable extent of moor. Chief seats are Upper Pollock, Capelrig, Southfield, and Greenbank; and the chief antiquity is Mearns Castle, a well-preserved ancient tower, once the principal seat of the Earls of Nithsdale. ..... There were formerly 6 schools for 467 scholars, and there are now, in lieu of these, 2 new ones for 815."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]


Bibliography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History

Church Records

"The churches, including those in Busby, are Established, Free and 2 United Presbyterian."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Mearns parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1756-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1825-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Mearns to another place.

Historical Geography

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS549552 (Lat/Lon: 55.768354, -4.314476), Mearns which are provided by:

Population

Return to top of page u_arrow 1K)


Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to move up the hierarchy.

URL of this page : http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW/Mearns/index.shtml