Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Neilston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Neilston

"NEILSTON, town and parish in upper ward of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also Crofthead, West Arthurlee, Newton Ralston, Gateside, and Uplawmoor villages, Cross Arthurlee and Grahamston suburbs, and most of Barrhead town. Its length is nearly 7 miles; its greatest breadth 4¾ miles; its area 12,481 acres. ..... The land, in the north-east, is flat; through most of the centre, is valley; in the west, is part of the Fereneze Hills; in the south-east, includes the fine hill-ridges of Neilston-Park and Corkindale-Law, commanding magnificent views. Several lakes and reservoirs are in the south; and springs of purest water, one of them discharging 42 gallons per minute, are numerous. Chief seats are Arthurlee and Crofthead; chief spots of antiquarian interest are the sites of old castles and two religious houses; and prominent objects are numerous printfields, bleachfields and cotton factories. Five places of worship are in Barrhead. Seven schools for 1338 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 655 are new. Neilston-Pad is 854 feet high."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Neilston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Neilston parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1688-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1737-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1744-1816 and 1822-1851

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Neilston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Neilston to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Neilston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS480572 (Lat/Lon: 55.784189, -4.425470), Neilston which are provided by: