Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Paisley High Middle and Low

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Paisley High Middle and Low

"PAISLEY, town and parishes in upper ward of Renfrewshire. ..... The parishes are Abbey, High, Low and Middle. The Abbey parish includes part of the town, but extends far beyond it, and has been separately noticed. The other three parishes lie wholly in the town and comprise respectively 259, 94, and 517 acres. Pop. 17,914, and 7095, and 13,117."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Paisley High Middle and Low area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Paisley, High parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1788-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1788-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;

for Paisley, Middle parish:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1788-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1788-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;

and for Paisley, Low parish :

Births or Baptisms ~ 1738-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1739-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Paisley High Middle and Low which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Paisley to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Paisley High Middle and Low has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS483642 (Lat/Lon: 55.847123, -4.424597), Paisley High Middle and Low which are provided by: