Paisley
"PAISLEY, town and parishes in upper ward of Renfrewshire. ..... The parishes are Abbey, High, Low and Middle. The Abbey parish includes part of the town, but extends far beyond it, and has been separately noticed. The other three parishes lie wholly in the town and comprise respectively 259, 94, and 517 acres. Pop. 17,914, and 7095, and 13,117."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Paisley, High parish span the following years:for Paisley, Middle parish:Births or Baptisms ~ 1788-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1788-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;
and for Paisley, Low parish :Births or Baptisms ~ 1788-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1788-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;
Births or Baptisms ~ 1738-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1739-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records.
- Churches in Paisley (NS483642):
- Church of Scotland, Paisley
- Abbey, Church of Scotland, Paisley
- High Church, Church of Scotland, Paisley
- Low Church, Church of Scotland, Paisley
- Middle Church, Church of Scotland, Paisley
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
- View pictures of Paisley.
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Paisley to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Paisley has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS483642 (Lat/Lon: 55.847123, -4.424597), Paisley which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview