Port Glasgow
"PORT GLASGOW, town and parish on north coast of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish excludes a western part of the town, measures about 1 1/2 miles by 1, and comprises 944 acres. ..... Pop. of the whole, quoad civilia, 10,912; quoad sacra, 7556. The surface comprises prolongation of the low flat tract contiguous to the Clyde, a rapid ascent of green and wooded hill thence to the middle, and a tabular tract thence to the southern boundary."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Port Glasgow parish span the following years:Births or Baptisms ~ 1696-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1696-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Churches in Port Glasgow (NS327743):
- Church of Scotland, Port-Glasgow
- St John the Baptist, Shore Street, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Port Glasgow area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Port Glasgow to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Ports Glasgow has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS327743 (Lat/Lon: 55.932614, -4.679721), Port Glasgow which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview