Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Renfrew

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Renfrew

"RENFREW, town and parish in upper part of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also part of Paisley town and Yoker village, measures 6¼ miles by 2½, and comprises 4311 acres. ..... Pop. of the whole, quoad civilia, 7439; quoad sacra, 7267. The surface is cut into nearly three equal sections the the Clyde and the White Cart; and excepting the isolated eminence of Knock in the south, and some low undulating outskirts of the Lennox Hills on the north, is all low and level. The soil almost everywhere is deep and fertile, and the general landscape is much embellished. Excellent coal is worked in the north. Chief seats are Blythswood, Elderslie, Scotstown, Jordanhill, and Walkingshaw; and chief antiquities are the site of the ancient residence of the royal stewarts, the lands of Knock, which gave name to the distinguished family of Knox, and a fragmentary rock on the spot where the Earl of Argyle was wounded and taken prisoner in 1685. Five schools for 621 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 240 are new."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Renfrew area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Renfrew parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1673-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1673-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1732-1776

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Renfrew which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Renfrew to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Renfrew has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS505674 (Lat/Lon: 55.876538, -4.391257), Renfrew which are provided by: