Renfrew
"RENFREW, town and parish in upper part of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also part of Paisley town and Yoker village, measures 6 1/4 miles by 2 1/2, and comprises 4311 acres. ..... Pop. of the whole, quoad civilia, 7439; quoad sacra, 7267. The surface is cut into nearly three equal sections the the Clyde and the White Cart; and excepting the isolated eminence of Knock in the south, and some low undulating outskirts of the Lennox Hills on the north, is all low and level. The soil almost everywhere is deep and fertile, and the general landscape is much embellished. Excellent coal is worked in the north. Chief seats are Blythswood, Elderslie, Scotstown, Jordanhill, and Walkingshaw; and chief antiquities are the site of the ancient residence of the royal stewarts, the lands of Knock, which gave name to the distinguished family of Knox, and a fragmentary rock on the spot where the Earl of Argyle was wounded and taken prisoner in 1685. Five schools for 621 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 240 are new."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Bibliography
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Renfrew parish span the following years:Births or Baptisms ~ 1673-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1673-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1732-1776
- Churches in Renfrew (NS505674):
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Renfrew area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.
Description and Travel
- View pictures of Renfrew.
Gazetteers
Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Renfrew to another place.Historical Geography
- Details of the administrative areas of which Renfrew has been a part can be seen in Vision of Britain, which contains details of historic boundaries, and more about the place.
Maps
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS505674 (Lat/Lon: 55.876538, -4.391257), Renfrew which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview