Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Abbotrule

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Abbotrule

"A parish in Roxburghshire, lately suppressed and divided between the parishes of Bedrule and Southdean."
From Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.

Cemeteries

Selkirkshire Antiquarian Society has published CDs containing transcripts of gravestones in Abbotrule cemetery.

A list of monumental inscriptions was printed in the 1964 volume of the Hawick Archaeological Society's Transactions and a list of the surnames recorded is available online.

The Scottish Genealogy Society also has a list of pre-1855 inscriptions in the churchyard and this may be consulted at its library in Edinburgh.

Nigel Hardie is transcribing parish of Southdean and Abbotsrule burials.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Abbotrule area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1755. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Abbotrule which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Abbotrule has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Abbotrule to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT630090 (Lat/Lon: 55.373614, -2.585389), Abbotrule which are provided by: