GENUKI Home page
Up Roxburghshire Contents Contents

Bowden

View a Map of the Area.
"A parish in the county of Roxburgh, extending in length about 6, and in breadth 4 1/2 miles. There are a few eminences; but the surface is in general level ... There are remains of military road through the parish, and a ruin at Holydean, once a strong fortification, and the residence of the Dukes of Roxburgh. The family of Carre of Cavers, one of the most ancient in Scotland, have their seat in this parish. Population in 1801, 829." from Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.

Cemeteries

The Borders Family History Society has published a CD of Bowden monumental inscriptions.

The Scottish Genealogy Society has a listing of pre-1855 monumental inscriptions in Bowden churchyard. This is part of the society's collection of unpublished monumental inscription listings and may be viewed at the society's library in Edinburgh.

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Ancrum mortcloth records for 1697-1803.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church History

In the Bowden entry for the Statistical Account of Scotland (compiled 1790s, see the Statistics section of the Roxburghshire page for more details) the following comments were written:

"About one third of the inhabitants are Burghers and Antiburghers. The latter have a meeting-house in the parish; the congregation of which, from this and other parishes, pays their minister L.60 per annum."

Books about the local church include:

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1697. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Archives of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The presence of non-conformist churches in the parish is revealed by Rutherfurd's Southern Counties Register and Directory which lists the following in the year 1866:

There may have been other non-conformist churches at different times.

The General Register Office for Scotland holds records of Midlem Original Secession Church among its collection of Miscellaneous Records (MR 60). These include records of births between the years 1748 and 1915.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the General Register Office for Scotland website.

Description and Travel

The Bowden Village website includes photographs and a history of the parish.

Law and Legislation

A descriptive account of the records of one 16th century Bowden notary was published in 1997 by the Walter Mason Trust: The Protocol Book of Sir Ninian Brydin, 1536-1564 was transcribed, translated and edited by Teresa Maley and Walter Elliot. Sir Ninian Brydin was a notary in Selkirk from 1536 to 1545, worked in Edinburgh from 1546 to 1559, then returned to the Borders, working in the Bowden/Melrose area, between the years 1560 and 1564.

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Bowden include:

Bowden is also covered by an old Victorian one-inch to the mile Ordnance Survey map published by Caledonian Maps. The relevant sheet is sheet number 25 "Kelso & Melrose" which also includes Earlston, Galashiels, Gordon, Greenlaw, Lauder, Polwarth, Roxburgh, St Boswells, Selkirk and Westruther.

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Schools

A transcript of the Bowden School Admission Register (held at the Scottish Borders Archive and Local History Centre, reference R/ED/3/3) was printed in the February and June 1994 editions of the Borders Family History Society magazine. The first admission recorded took place in 1864, the last in 1873. The surnames listed among the 68 admissions are:

Amos, Anderson, Baptie, Barnes, Bell, Bonnington, Brown, Cairns, Dalgliesh, Dickinson, Dodds, Donaldson, Fisher, Gaffney, Grant, Grieve, Halliburton, Henderson, Hogg, Hume, Lilie, Lowrie, Mackay, McVitae, Mitchell, Morrison, Ormiston, Porteous, Scott, Shiel, Stavert, Thomson, Turnbull, Welsh, Whillans, Wilson, Woodger and Yule.

Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 9th September 2011

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.