Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Minto

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Minto

"MINTO, a parish, containing the villages of Minto and Hassendean, in Roxburghshire. Its post-town is Denholm, adjacent to its south-eastern border. It is bounded by Lilliesleaf, Ancrum, Bedrule, Cavers, Wilton, and a detached part of Selkirkshire. Its length eastward is 5¾ miles; and its greatest breadth is 3 miles. The river Teviot, flowing over numerous fords, along a pebbly bed, and between banks singularly varied and highly picturesque, runs ... generally along the southern and south-eastern boundary".
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Minto area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

The following quotation comes from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson and published in 1868. This reference was found in volume II, page 426:

"The present parish of Minto comprehends the ancient parish of Minto which was a rectory, and part of the ancient parish of Hassendean."

Rev. William Ewing's Annals of the Free Church of Scotland (published 1914 in Edinburgh) notes that the Free Church congregation at Denholm "was formed in the autumn of 1843 by adherents of the Free Church from the parishes of Minto, Bedrule, and Cavers". He notes the membership of this congregation in 1848 as 185; by 1900 it was 174.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1703. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Minto which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Minto has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:

  • 1762: A reduced map of the lands of Hassendean Common. Scale 1:3600. Size 116x84cm. Grid (map) reference NT5220. NRS reference RHP.180/2
  • 1762: A map of Hassendean Common. Scale 1:3600. Size 115x67cm. Grid (map) reference NT5220. NRS reference RHP.180/3 (also copy engraved - RHP.180/1)
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT565202 (Lat/Lon: 55.473713, -2.689700), Minto which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 396
  • 1801 - 477
  • 1811 - 514
  • 1821 - 472
  • 1831 - 481
  • 1861 - 430