Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Southdean

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Southdean

"A parish in Roxburghshire, about 12 miles long, and 7 broad, lying on the banks of the Jed, and comprehending a part of the old parish of Abbotrule ... Like the rest of the border districts, this parish affords many monuments of warlike antiquity, as camps, castles, and other fortifications. Population in 1801, 697."
From the Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.

Bibliography

George Tancred's Rulewater and its People was first published in 1907 and reprinted in 1992 by the Borders Regional Library. This gives "the history of many parishes in Rulewater, Roxburghshire, and adjoining lands and families." It is listed in the LDS Family History Library catalogue in microfilm format, so is hopefully available worldwide in LDS family history centres.

Cemeteries

Selkirkshire Antiquarian Society has published a CD containing transcripts and digital photographs of gravestones in the Southdean cemeteries old and new.

Nigel Hardie is transcribing parish of Southdean and Abbotsrule burials.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Southdean area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Rutherfurd's Southern Counties Register and Directory of 1866 lists the following non-conformist churches:

  • Wolfelee Free Church

There may have been other non-conformist churches at different times.

Rev. William Ewing's Annals of the Free Church of Scotland (published 1914 in Edinburgh) notes that Wolflee congregation "was formed by people who in the parishes of Hobkirk and Southdean 'came out' in 1843". Tancred's Rulewater and its People (see Bibliography section) has quite a bit about this Free Church (on pages 318-326), including a list of the congregation in 1849.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1696. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Southdean which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Southdean has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Southdean to another place.

History

A number of articles on this parish have been published in the transactions of Hawick Archaeological Society. These include:

  • "The history of Southdean" by George Watson, 1926 transactions, pages 16-22

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT631092 (Lat/Lon: 55.375419, -2.583838), Southdean which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 480
  • 1801 - 697
  • 1811 - 804
  • 1821 - 837
  • 1831 - 839
  • 1851 - 845
  • 1861 - 687