Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Teviothead

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Teviothead

"TEVIOTHEAD, a parish, containing a post-office station of its own name, on the south-west border of Roxburghshire. It is bounded by Dumfries-shire, and by the parishes of Roberton, Hawick, Cavers, and Castleton. It was erected in 1850 out of the parishes of Hawick and Cavers. It is all an upland region, drained by the head-streams of the Teviot. Population in 1861, 438."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

See James C Bonsor's article on "Teviothead old churchyard" in the 1940 transactions of Hawick Archaeological Society, pages 53-57.

Census

The 1841 census for Teviothead is missing.

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Teviothead area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1824. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Teviothead which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Teviothead has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

For information on Mosspaul, see "Mosspaul and its associations" by James Edgar, published in the 1933 transactions of Hawick Archaeological Society, pages 8-14.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT404052 (Lat/Lon: 55.337245, -2.941154), Teviothead which are provided by: