GENUKI Home page
Up Selkirkshire Contents Contents

Ettrick

View a Map of the Area.
"A parish in the county of Selkirk, extending about 10 miles in every direction. The general appearance is hilly and mountainous, the river Etterick winding through it ... There are two lakes adjoining to one another, partly in this parish and partly in Yarrow, called the loch of the Lows, and St Mary's Loch, abounding with pike and perch ... Population in 1801, 445." from Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Ettrick burials for 1829-1852.

Selkirkshire Antiquarian Society has published a CD containing transcripts and digital photographs of gravestones in the Ettrick cemetery.

A list of monumental inscriptions was printed in the 1964 volume of the Hawick Archaeological Society's Transactions and a list of the surnames recorded is available online.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1693. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include kirk session minutes and accounts for the years 1693-1707 (in part 774B/1). More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Selkirkshire page.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

The Ettrick and Yarrow Valleys website includes information about the local history as well as tourist information, photographs etc.

Hunter Boa's website includes pictures of places in Ettrick and Yarrow parishes.

See also History section below.

History

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Ettrick include:

Ettrick is also covered by two reprinted one-inch to the mile Victorian Ordnance Survey maps. These are published by Caledonian Maps. The maps covering Ettrick (the first one takes in almost all of the parish) are:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 5th September 2011

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.