Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kirkhope

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kirkhope

"KIRKHOPE, an ancient parish in Selkirkshire. It was incorporated with the ancient parishes of Duchoire and St Mary's to form the modern parish of Yarrow; and it then constituted the north-east and the south-east districts of that parish. Its church stood in a close-headed vale or 'hope', called from it Kirkhope, along which a rill runs to the Ettrick at Ettrick-bridge. The parish of Kirkhope was disjoined from Yarrow, and reconstituted into a separate parish in 1852."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Selkirkshire Antiquarian Society has published a CD containing transcripts and digital photographs of gravestones in Kirkhope Cemetery (Ettrickbridge).

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkhope area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1852. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Description and Travel

The Ettrick and Yarrow Valleys website includes information about the local history as well as tourist information, photographs etc.

You can see pictures of Kirkhope which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kirkhope has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

Ordnance Survey maps covering Kirkhope include:

  • Landranger 73: Peebles, Galashiels & surrounding area - scale 1:50000, or 1.25inch:1mile, or 2cm:1km
  • Outdoor Leisure 44: Tweed Valley (Peebles to St Boswells) - scale 1:25000, or 2.5inch:1mile, or 4cm:1km

Kirkhope is also covered by two reprinted one-inch to the mile Victorian Ordnance Survey maps. These are published by Caledonian Maps. The maps covering Kirkhope are:

  • Sheet 16: Moffat, including Beattock, Eskdalemuir, Ettrick Water, Hart Fell, St Mary's Loch, Thirlestane, Tweedsmuir and Yarrow
  • Sheet 17: Hawick & Jedburgh, including Ancrum, Ashkirk, Bedrule, Bonchester, Cheviot Hills, Hobkirk, Lilliesleaf, Minto, Teviotdale, and Watling Street
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT380237 (Lat/Lon: 55.503160, -2.983105), Kirkhope which are provided by:

Population

Here are some statistics showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1861 - 555