A GENUKI logo with a link to the main GENUKI page An arrow that denotes a link up to the country page  Scotland   To Towns & Parishes Wigtownshire
Towns & Parishes
  To Information Information related to
all of Wigtownshire
GENUKI Contents Contents

Wigtownshire

map showing Wigtownshire in relation to other counties in Scotland
"WIGTOWNSHIRE, a maritime county in the SW extremity of Scotland, forms the W division of Galloway, and contains the most southernly land in Scotland. It is bounded on the N partly by the mouth of the Firth of Clyde, but chiefly by Ayrshire, E by Kirkcudbrightshire, S by the Irish Sea, and W by the Irish Channel....
...The interior is divided into three great districts. The peninsula, or rather the double peninsula, W of Loch Ryan and Luce Bay, is known as the Rhinns of Galloway; the district which forms the broad-based triangular peninsula between Luce Bay and Wigtown Bay is called the Machers; while the rest of the county, N of the Machers and E of Loch Ryan, bears the loose general name of the Moors...
...The streams of Wigtownshire are very numerous, but for the most part of short course and unimportant size. The chief is the Cree, which for 21 1/2 miles forms the boundaries between Kirkcudbright and Wigtown shires, just before it enters Wigtown Bay at Creetown....
...Wigtownshire is almost exclusively an agricultural and grazing county, its manufacture and commerce, and mining being but of little importance...
...The royal burghs in the county are Wigtown, Stranraer, and Whithorn; the burghs of barony are Newton Stewart, Glenluce, and Portpatrick..."
Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by Francis H. Groome, 1885

Parishes

Glasserton
Inch
Kirkcolm
Kirkcowan
Kirkinner
Kirkmaiden
Leswalt
Mochrum
New Luce
Old Luce
Penninghame
Portpatrick
Sorbie
Stoneykirk
Stranraer
Whithorn
Wigtown

INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF WIGTOWNSHIRE

Archives and libraries
Bibliography
Census Returns
Church Records
Civil Registration
Court Records
Description and Travel
Directories
Genealogy
History
Kirk Session Records See Church Records
Land and Property
Maps
Names, Geographical
Population
Societies
Statistics

Archives and Libraries

See also our information on General Register Office for Scotland
and entries below for Census Returns, Church Records and Civil Registration

Stranraer Museum, 55 George Street, Stranraer DG9 7JP (Archives)

Local Libraries in Dumfries and Galloway possess local history and genealogical collections of value to family history researchers.

Dumfries and Galloway Family History Research Centre, 9 Glasgow Street, Dumfries, DG2 9AF
Source material for the county and individual parishes can be found in the publications lists of Dumfries and Galloway Family History Society.

Bibliography

  1. Old Statistical Account,Sir John Sinclair,1790's (see the Statistics section).
  2. New Statistical Account, W. Blackwood, 1840's (see the Statistics section)
  3. George MacDonald Fraser, The Steel Bonnets, 1971, ISBN 0-394-47049-4 (see the History section)
  4. P.H. M'Kerlie,History of the Lands and Their Owners in Galloway, vol. 1-5 (Edinburgh: William Patterson, 1870's) available in the LDS library collection. G.C.Book Publishers have recently (1994) reprinted the five volume set which has corrections and additions in the authors handwritting. (see the Land and Property section)
  5. Herbert Maxwell, A History of Dumfries and Galloway, (Edinburgh and London, William Black and Sons, 1896) available in the LDS library collection and book web sites such as abebooks. (recently reprinted) (see the History section)
Wigtown is Scotland's Book Town. Bookshops there have a good stock of  books about Scotland, or by Scottish authors.

Census Returns

Scottish census returns are held at the General Register Office and copies on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Various census indexes are available that will help you in your research. They are the following:

Church Records

Church Records are located at the General Register Office and the National Archives of Scotland in Edinburgh. The General Register Office has put the OPR online. The OPR is pre 1855 Church of Scotland church records. The people in the county belonged predominately to the Church of Scotland. For a fee you can search these records at their web site, scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You can also search the LDS database (IGI) which contains much of the OPR. Copies of the parish registers on microfilm and the OPR index may be consulted in LDS Family History Centres around the world. The LDS library catalogue can be searched online to determine what parish registers are available.

The condition of parish registers was recorded in the New Statistical Account. In 1849 William Turnbull published a book which extracted from the New Statistical Account remarks by the ministers about their individual registers. For the most part the ministers describe their registers as imperfect, defective, and not voluminous.

The National Archives of Scotland holds nonconformist or church records for those churches other than the Church of Scotland. Local archives also hold some nonconformist records. The people in the county belonged predominately to the Church of Scotland. Many of those people that did not belong to the Church of Scotland had to travel some distance to attend church, so you should search surrounding parishes for nonconformist records.

The Kirk Session of a parish consists of the minister and elders from the congregation and a clerk . It looked after the general well being of the congregation and parochial discipline. You will find in these records mention of illegitmate children, irregular marriages, and poor people that received money from the Kirk. The detailed accounts will mention many people in the parish. Kirk Session records are held in the National Archives of Scotland.

Civil Registration

The registration of births, deaths and marriages began on January 1, 1855. Civil Registration records are held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh. For a small fee you can download and print images of the vital records at their web site. The records are indexed and easily searchable.
The LDS database (IGI) contains birth and marriage data from 1855 to 1875.

Court Records

Records of testaments, inventories etc. are held at the National Archives of Scotland in Edinburgh. (previously known as the Scottish Record Office)

Description and Travel

The latest information on sites to see, recreation, and accommodations can be found on a site established by the Dumfries and Galloway Tourist Board.
Dumfries and Galloway online provides similar information.

A good guide to the Galloway area is C.H.Dick's "Highways & Byways in Galloway & Carrick". This was first published in 1916, but a limited edition reprint was recently issued by G.C.Book Publishers.

A book which may be of interest is John Hume and Judith Anderson's "Dumfries & Galloway: an illustrated architectural guide". As the title suggests, it concentrates on the architecture of the area. However it is well illustrated with hundreds of photographs and contains short descriptions and historical notes on many places.

Directories

Throughout the years commercial directories have been made of the county. The 1837 Pigot's directory is available from a local publisher, G.C.Book Publishers. The 1837 Pigot's directory lists the various towns in the county with a brief description, and the names of those that were involved in business activities, i.e., nobility, gentry, bankers, bakers, booksellers, etc..

Genealogy

A mailing list has been established for those researching surnames originating in, existing in, or having emigrated from the Dumfries/Galloway area of Scotland. This includes the counties of Wigtown, Kirkcudbright, and Dumfries.

A mailing list has been established for those who have research interests in Wigtownshire.

Let others know about the ancestors you are looking for in Wigtownshire. A surname list for the county has been established on Rootsweb. The Dumfries & Galloway Family History Society surname list is no longer online. Submit your names to the new list.

The Scotland Surnames List maintained by Graham Jaunay includes this county.

Useful information about the county can be found on the Wigtownshire Scotland GenWeb Page.

The Wigtownshire Pages on Rootsweb is an excellent site. It provides records to help trace your ancestry.

The Scottish Page is devoted to the research of Scottish ancestry, especially that of Dumfries and Galloway.

History

The Highland and Agriculture Society of Scotland published an article by Thomas Maclelland of Kirkinner, Wigtownshire in 1875 on the state of agriculture in Galloway. Section 5, A sketch of the early state of agriculture in Kirkcudbright and Wigtown, depicts the times from the seventeenth to nineteenth century.
These paragraphs record the effect the Napoleonic conflict had on the region. "The first impetus the agriculture of the two counties received was consequent on the high prices of grain during the French war. Gold or silver had always hitherto been a scarce commodity in Galloway. No transaction of buying or selling was ever settled in cash. Bills or promissory notes were given and taken for the smallest, as well as for the largest amount. Tradesmen's accounts, and even servants' wages, were paid in the same manner. When the excitement of the French war brought prices double of what had ever been heard of, and gold found its way into the district, the farming interest began to flourish. New steadings with thrashing mills were erected, strong and substantial fences were put up, and improvements on all sides became visible. The rent of land received an extraordinary advance, and at the set of the Baldoon estate in 1806, just before purchased by the Earl of Galloway, such was the excitement, and the eagerness to possess land, that the auctioneer had to restrain his bidders with the caution, "Remember, gentlemen, you are not purchasing the land, you are only leasing it." But, alas! the high built hopes that these prices would always remain were suddenly dashed to the ground; for on the cessation of the war in 1815, the low prices which followed drained the farmers' pockets, of most, if not of all their capital, leaving them completely in the power of their landlords, who in some instances, at least, did not push their advantage to the utmost. A period of great depression in agriculture ensued, and for twenty years neither landlords nor tenants were possessed of ability or spirit to prosecute much improvement."

The Union of the crowns in 1603 marked the end of the the reiving times. The reiving times was the conflict that raged between the fourteenth and sixteenth centuries on the border between Scotland and England. A book, The Steel Bonnets, provides a history of the reiving times.

A History of Dumfries and Galloway by Herbert Maxwell provides a history of the region as it relates to Scottish history from A.D. 79 to about 1750. Read some brief excerpts. "...It has been stated above the activity of the Legislature in proceeding against witches was not manifested in Dumfrieshire and Galloway until a latter period than in the rest of Scotland. From 1656 onwards, however, this devilish business was pressed with diligence by some of the church courts....
....The record is not so black in Wigtownshire. There is indeed, no evidence of any witches having been put to death in that county...."
The Covenanters in Arms -- "...The smouldering fires, kindled by the creation of Episcopacy and the imposition of a liturgy, now broke forth. The General Assembly, in defiance of a writ of disolution issued by Hamilton, continued to sit at Glasgow, and on November 21, 1638...
...Preparations for war were begun as soon as the Assembly adjourned. Although the great territorial influences of the Maxwells was on the side of the king and bishops, the mass of the people in the south-west and many of the baronage had signed the Covenant, and were ready to fight for it."

One of the greatest transportation changes of the nineteenth century, the railroad, came to the county in about 1860. There had been a railroad between Glasgow and Dumfries since 1850. The first line that that was opened was the section between Dumfries and CastleDouglas in 1859. Soon after the railroad was extended from CastleDouglas to Portpatrick in Wigtownshire.

The site, Museums and Galleries, provides a look at various aspects of Dumfries & Galloway over the centuries. The link, Local economy within the the section History of Dumfries records the following. "Dumfries was, and indeed still is, the most important market town for South-West Scotland and as such has always serviced the surrounding countryside. Cattle have long been an important industry and ancillary industries used to be significant in Dumfries; tanning, leatherworking, shoe making, clogmaking and saddlery to mention a few. The agricultural improvements of the 18th century brought about increased yields from cultivated land and considerable areas were given over to the cultivation of oats, barley and wheat. The ancillary industries for these are brewing, distilling and milling."
"Galloway cattle together with beasts imported from Ireland were driven south to English markets in vast herds, often as many as 30,000 a year. Towns such as Stranraer, New Galloway, Kirkcudbright and Dumfries served as collecting points on the droving routes, which ran the length of Galloway from Portpatrick to Carlisle. One of the favourite crossing points which saved a detour of miles was from Dornock across the Solway and there is a pub on the English side at Monkhill near Burgh by Sands called the Drovers Rest. One of the places on the distance marker affixed to the Midsteeple is Huntingdon, in the last century one of the most important of the English cattle markets. Droving was killed off by development of steam shipping but meat export continued to be important."

Take a look at photographs of churches and churchyards in Dumfries and Galloway many of which are from Wigtownshire.

Land and Property

A primary source of land ownership can be found in Sasine registers. Many farmers leased land so they would not be in the sasine registers.
The sasine records are indexed from 1780 to 1868 and beyond. There are no indexes to Sasine Registers for Wigtownshire prior to 1780. The sasine registers to be aware of are the Particular Register for Wigtownshire and Burgh register of Sasine for the towns of Wigtown, Stranraer, and Whithorn. There is also a general register of sasine which was kept in Edinburgh. Sasine records are held at the National Archives of Scotland in Edinburgh and may be purchased from them. Search the indexes first to determine if these records exist for your ancestor.

History of the Land and their Owners in Galloway, by P.H. M'Kerlie, provides information about land and its owners in every parish from the dark ages into the nineteenth century. Many place names that are no longer on maps can be found in this work. (see Bibliography #4) A surname and place name index of this work is now online

Maps

Historic maps for the county of Wigtownshire dated from 1846 to 1899. (scale 1:10,560)

Names, Geographical

See "The Place Names of Galloway" by Sir Herbert Maxwell, published in 1930.
Castles of Kirkcudbright, Wigtown, and Dumfries.

Population

Year Persons
1755 16,466
1801 22,918
1821 33,240
1841 39,195
1851 43,389

Societies

Statistics

The statistical accounts are the result of a series of questions that were directed to the ministers of each parish. There are accounts for every parish in Wigtownshire. These reports provide a description of the social and economic life in the parishes and much more.
The Old Statistical Account was compiled in the 1790's. The New Statistical Account was compiled in the 1840's. The Statistical Accounts are online. Segments of the New Statisical Account have been used in the Parish section. The New Statistical Account has been microfilmed and may be consulted in Mormon Family History Centres around the world.
There is also a Third Statistical Account which was prepared in the 1940's

Return to top of page.

Valid HTML 4.0! Info Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI. Copyright © 2004, Genuki.
This page originally created by Don Jaggi
Last updated 2nd December, 2006 - Brian Timmins