LINLITHGOW, West Lothian
"A parish containg the royal burgh of the same name in the NW of the county of Linglithgow. A south-eastern projection of the parish, a mile broad at the narrowest, that separated the parish of Ecclesmachan from its detached part, was in 1891 transferred by the Boundary Commissioners to that parish. It is bounded N by Carriden parish, NE by Abercorn, E and SE by Ecclesmachan, S by Ecclesmachan and Bathgate, SW by Torphichen, W by Stirlingshire and NW by Borrowstounness parish. The boundary with Stirlingshire is the river Avon, over a distance of 4 7/8 miles, and in the NE and SE the line follows for some distance the Haugh and Mains Burns; elsewhere it is mostly artificial. The greatest length of the parish, from the river Avon west of Carribber on the W to the boundary with Ecclesmachan on the E, is 6 miles; and the greatest breadth, from the road N of Bonside on the N to Silvermine on the S, is 4 7/8 miles. The surface is undulating, and the height above sea-level rises from 150 feet at Linlithgow Loch, northwards to Bonnytoun Hill or Glower-o'er-'em (559) and southwards to the Riccardton Hills (832). From Bonnytoun Hill, which is just on the northern border, there is a very extensive and charming view. The north-eastern and eastern districts are mainly level, while the central hollow rises southward with a long slope to the Riccarton Hills."
Extract from Groomes Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland c.1895.
Click on the map at the right to access more maps of Linlithgow.
- The transcription of the section for Linlithgow from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Below is the population for Linlithgow over various years.
1801 3596 1831 4874 1861 5784 1871 5554 1881 5619 1891 7520