We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

County Map of Scotland

Please click in the appropriate map area to link to the relevant county page.

County Map of ScotlandEnglandShetlandOrkneyCaithnessSutherlandRoss & CromartyInverness-shireNairnshireMorayBanffshireAberdeenshireKincardineshireAngusPerthshireFifeKinross-shireClackmannanshireCounty of ArgyllDunbartonshireStirlingshireWest LothianRenfrewshireButeAyrshireLanarkshireWigtownshireKirkcudbrightshireDumfriesshireMidlothianPeeblesshireSelkirkshireRoxburghshireBerwickshireEast Lothian

Select a county from either of the lists below, or use the clickable 1890-1975 county map of Scotland. If you don't know which county a parish or town lies in, try an online gazetteer covering the whole of the UK. To find which GENUKI pages cover more modern administrative areas and the "Counties of Cities" see Regions and Counties of Cities.


      Map-Numeric Order
  1: Caithness
  2: Sutherland
  3: Ross & Cromarty
      (+ Part of Lewis)
3a: Cromarty - Pre 1890 only
  4: Inverness-shire
      (+ Part of Lewis, Uist & Skye)
  5: Nairnshire
  6: County of Moray
  7: Banffshire
  8: Aberdeenshire
  9: Kincardineshire
10: Angus
      (Forfarshire until 1928)
11: Perthshire
12: County of Argyll
13: County of Bute
14: Ayrshire
15: Renfrewshire
16: Dunbartonshire
17: Stirlingshire
18: Clackmannanshire
19: Kinross-shire
20: County of Fife
21: East Lothian
      (Haddingtonshire until 1921)
22: Midlothian
      (County of Edinburgh until 1921)
23: West Lothian
      (Linlithgowshire until 1921)
24: Lanarkshire
25: Peeblesshire
26: Selkirkshire
27: Berwickshire
28: Roxburghshire
29: Dumfriesshire
30: Kirkcudbrightshire
31: Wigtownshire
      Orkney (Not shown on map)
      Shetland (Not shown on map)
Scottish Counties pre 1890
This 1890-1975 map below is Hover-Clickable
Scottish Counties 1890-1975CaithnessSutherlandRoss & CromartyRoss & CromartyInverness-shireInverness-shireInverness-shireInverness-shireNairnshireCounty of MorayBanffshireAberdeen-shireKinkardineshireAngusCounty of ArgylCounty of ButeAyrshireRenfrewshireDunbartonshireDunbartonshireStirlingshireClackmannanshireKinross-shireCounty of FifeEast LothianWest LothianLanarkshirePeebleshireSelkirkshireBerwickshireRoxburghshireDumfriess-shireKirkudbrightshireWigtownshireArgyleArgylePerthMidlothianEngland
  Alphabetic Order
  Aberdeenshire [8]
  Angus [10]
  (Forfarshire until 1928)
  County of Argyll [12]
  Ayrshire [14]
  Banffshire [7]
  Berwickshire [27]
  County of Bute [13]
  Caithness [1]
  Clackmannanshire [18]
  Cromarty - Pre 1890 only [3a]
  Dumfriesshire [29]
  Dunbartonshire [16]
  East Lothian [21]
  (Haddingtonshire until 1921)
  County of Fife [20]
  Inverness-shire [4]
  (+ Part of Lewis, Uist & Skye)
  Kincardineshire [9]
  Kinross-shire [19]
  Kirkcudbrightshire [30]
  Lanarkshire [24]
  Midlothian [22]
  (County of Edinburgh until 1921)
  County of Moray [6]
  Nairnshire [5]
  Orkney (Not shown on map)
  Peeblesshire [25]
  Perthshire [11]
  Renfrewshire [15]
  Ross & Cromarty
  (+ Part of Lewis) [3]
  Roxburghshire [28]
  Selkirkshire [26]
  Shetland (Not shown on map)
  Stirlingshire [17]
  Sutherland [2]
  West Lothian [23]
  (Linlithgowshire until 1921)
  Wigtownshire [31]
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Care and maintenance - The section has a maintainer assigned who is correcting broken links, and staying in touch with the GENUKI system administrator and Trustees but is not active in updating the section's web pages. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact David McFarlane.