| Breconshire | Contents & Search |
A pictorial and descriptive guide to Llandrindod Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Llanwrtyd Wells, Builth Wells and Central Wales : with medical notes : plan of Llandrindod Wells, map of the district, and six sketch maps illustrating walks. London : Ward, Lock and Co., [1920?].Ashton, Owen R. A short history of Builth Wells from Medieval to Modern times. [Builth] : printed by T. Edward Turner, 1974.
Bidgood, Ruth. Lawrence families of the Builth and Llanelwedd area in the 18th and 19th centuries. Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 59 (1989), p. 90-115
Davies, David P. Builth Wells and its vicinity. Builth Wells, C. Sirett, 1867. 136p
Davies, Gwen. Builth Cottage Hospital : a centenary history 1897-1997. Builth Wells : [Gwen Davies] 1997. 134p
Hinchcliffe, J B. 120 views of Builth Wells : Llandrindod Wells, Elan Valley Waterworks, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Newbridge-on-Wye, Rhayader etc. Builth Wells : J.B. Hinchliffe, [1909] 36p
Hughes, Colin P F. Builth Wells High School : a centenary history 1896 - 1996. Builth Wells : Builth Wells High School, 1996. 186p
Hughes, Colin P F. Builth County School : school and community. Education for Development 10/1 (1986), p. 79-89
Hughes, Colin P F. Intermediate education in north Breconshire : the establishment of Builth County School. Brycheiniog 26 (1993-94), p. 135-52
Morrison, Malcolm. Pictorial history of Builth Wells. [s.l.] : M J Morrison, c1989. 96p
Pugh, Margaret. History of Horeb Congregational Church, Builth Wells, 1808-1988. [Builth Wells] : Horeb Congregational Church, Builth Wells, [1988]
Sinclair, J B. Towns and villages of Wales : Builth Wells. Stroud : Alan Sutton, 1993. 83p
Spurgeon, Clifford J. Builth Castle. Llandrindod Wells : Powys County Council, 1982
The Welsh spa album : containing artistic views, in colour, of Llandrindood Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Llanwrtyd Wells, Builth Wells, Rhayader, Elan Valley, &c. Llandrindod Wells : W. Thomas, [1905?]
Church of St Mary, Builth Wells on the Brecknockshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Breconshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales (NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives:
Builth Castle on the Castle Wales site
Builth Wells Life - on the BBC site
Map of Builth in 1836 Victorian Powys for Schools site - Transport theme
Victorian Builth and the Wye Valley Victorian Powys for Schools site
The Workhouse - The Wales/Breconshire section of Peter Higginbotham's comprehensive account of British workhouses includes a description of the Builth Poor Law Union, together with a list of staff and inmates residing at Builth Union Workhouse, extracted from the 1881 census.
Builth
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark. |