| Breconshire | Contents & Search |
Robert ap Steffan. A building for all seasons : exploring a hidden corner of Y Gelli / Hay-on Wye. Cambria 3/1 (Autumn 1999), p. 55-6.Cooke, David. Grant's guide to Hay-on-Wye, Talgarth and the Black Mountains. Hay-on-Wye : H.R. Grant & Son, [1981] 82p.
Fairs, Geoffrey Lowrie. Annals of a parish : a short history of Hay-on-Wye. Hay-on-Wye : Geoffrey L. Fairs, 1994. 108p.
Fairs, Geoffrey Lowrie. A history of the Hay : the story of Hay-on-Wye. Chichester : Phillimore, 1972. 356p.
Gowen, Keith. Where can I find Mrs Gaskell? : (Diary of a Hay-on-Wye bookseller). Llandysul : Gomer, 1985. 67p.
Hay-on-Wye districts, the official guide. Cheltenham : Burrow, [1973] 44p.
Lewes, Fred. The Brook Estate or Glanyravon, Hay-on-Wye. Cronicl Powys. No. 49 (2000), p. 17-18.
Morris, Jacqueline. Hay-on-Wye : local economy in the 19th century. Brycheiniog 22 (1986/87), p. 112-19.
Nobody had heard of Hay : the Hay-on-Wye book that celebrates the Millennium. Almeley : Logaston Press, 2002. 105p.
Remfrey, Paul M. Hay-on-Wye Castle, 1066 to 1298. Worcester : SCS, c1995. 27p.
Remfrey, Paul; M. Hay-on-Wye Castle : a short guide. Worcester : SCS, 1995. 20p.
Church of St Mary, Hay-on-Wye on Brecknockshire Churches Survey site.
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Breconshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
Hay Castle on the Castle Wales site.
Hay-on-Wye Motte on the Castle Wales site.
Places, villages, farms etc., within Hay parish as shown on the parish map on the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file] (Kain, R. J. P., Oliver, R. R.). (Extracted by John Ball)
Hay
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark. |